Resources

MEDIA

“Canada’s Forgotten Quilts” Podcast Episode – January 2022. https://hapticandhue.com/canadas-forgotten-quilts/

“Second World War Red Cross Quilt Repatriated to Gananoque” – November 2021. https://www.gananoquereporter.com/news/local-news/second-world-war-red-cross-quilt-repatriated-to-gananoque

“Second World War Red Cross Quilts Have Links to Gananoque” – November 2021. https://www.gananoquereporter.com/news/local-news/second-world-war-red-cross-quilts-have-links-to-gananoque

“‘No Two Quilts were the Same’: Local Woman Recalls Quilting for the War” – November 2020. https://www.thewhig.com/news/local-news/no-two-quilts-were-the-same-local-woman-recalls-quilting-during-the-war

LINKS

“Canada’s Forgotten Quilts”: https://hapticandhue.com/canadas-forgotten-quilts/

“Canadian Comfort Quilts”: http://halifaxwomenshistory.ca/canadian-comfort-quilts

Moose Jaw Red Cross Quilt: https://www.redcross.ca/history/artifacts/canadian-red-cross-quilt

“The Old Guard” – Canadian Red Cross Quilts: https://www.pandqmagazine.com/news/article/the-old-guard/160

“Comfort from Kindness”: https://www.weavingmusicalthreads.com/projects/comfort-from-kindness-the-canadian-red-cross-quilts

“Volunteering in the First and Second World War”: https://wartimecanada.ca/essay/volunteering/volunteering-first-and-second-world-war

“The Art of Quilting”: https://www.ornamentum.ca/post/the-art-of-quilting

Brackley Beach, PEI – Minutes of the Red Cross Society: https://www.veterans.gc.ca/eng/remembrance/those-who-served/diaries-letters-stories/second-world-war/my-grandmother/cudmore

Stitch in Time – A Timeless Story of Remembrance: https://saugeentimes.com/a-stitch-in-time-a-timeless-story-of-remembrance/

Monarch Handknits for Men and Women in Service 1941 – see page 24-27: http://wartimecanada.ca/sites/default/files/documents/Monarch_0.pdf

FILMS

NFB film – “To the Ladies” – https://www.nfb.ca/film/to_the_ladies/

NFB film – “Home Front” – https://www.nfb.ca/film/home_front/

Red Cross Film – “There Too Go I” – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NqXtMoZ-i3U

RED CROSS QUILTS IN PUBLIC and PRIVATE COLLECTIONS

Victoria and Albert Museum: https://collections.vam.ac.uk/item/O1322216/canadian-red-cross-quilt-patchwork-quilt-unknown/

American Museum in England: https://americanmuseum.org/red-cross-quilts-from-wwii/

Australian Quilt Registry: https://www.nationalquiltregister.org.au/quilts/canadian-red-cross-quilt/

Quilters Guild UK – they have several in their collection but here is one: http://www.quiltmuseum.org.uk/collections/heritage/unknown/1940-1950/canadian-red-cross-quilt.html

BOOKS

300 Years of Canada’s Quilts. Mary Conroy, 1976

Old Nova Scotian Quilts. Scott Robson and Sharon MacDonald, 1995

Ontario’s Heritage Quilts. Marilyn Walker, 1992

Passing on the Comfort: The War, The Quilts, and the Women who Made a Difference. An Keuning-Tichelaar, 2005

Quilts of Prince Edward Island. Sherrie Davidson, 2010

Threads of Life. Claire Hunter, 2019

WWII Quilts. Sue Reich, 2010

Wartime Quilts. Annette Gero, 2015